President of Indonesia releases third pop album

President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono’s new album in a music store in Jakarta following its release on Sunday. He has shown his commitment to his artistic side with a release of his third album containing nine pop songs, all of which he composed.

The president's album, entitled "Kuyakin Sampai di Sana" ("I'm Certain I'll Make It,") containing nine songs, comes as his government's popularity has declined over the expensive bailout of a local bank in 2008.

Musicians collaborating with the President include the winner of favorite male artist at MTV Indonesia Music Awards 2009, Vidi Aldiano, and the winner of season 1 of Indonesian Idol, Joy Tobing.

Also involved were senior musicians Fariz RM, Irwan Simanjuntak, Yan Rusli, Alvin Lubis, Elfa Singers and Elfa Seciora, as well as country singer Tantowi Yahya and actress-singer Dewi Yull.

"In my struggle to serve the country, sometimes during my leisure time, I express my feelings in the form of arts," the Monday edition of an English-language newspaper, the Jakarta Post, quoted Yudhoyono as saying.

Andi Mallarangeng, the Minister of Youth and Sports Affairs and a former presidential spokesman, told Reuters on Monday that the president found singing and composing songs meditative.

"He has been doing this since high school, and while he was in the military," Mallarangeng said.

The President explained that the album contained songs from various genres, and that the lyrics represented his beliefs and commitment to reaching the ideals.

“These songs were inspired by a belief that no one can change the destiny of a nation but the children of the nation itself,” he said.

The previous two albums entitled Rinduku Padamu (My Longing for You), released in late 2007, and Evolusi (Evolution), released in early 2009.

Via - Reuters , The Jakarta Post

~ Library of weird news blog ~


Post a Comment